All-Star roster is set for clash with Manchester Utd

The final All-Star selections were announced on Monday to round out the final 23-man MLS roster for the 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game against Manchester United on July 28 at Reliant Stadium in Houston (8:30 p.m. ET, ESPN2, TeleFutura).

The list of players named today include 11 players picked by MLS All-Star manager Bruce Arena along with his assistant for the game, Dominic Kinnear, and two selections made by Commissioner Don Garber: MLS all-time leading scorer Jaime Moreno (D.C. United) and 2006 US World Cup veteran Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo).

Arena named the following players to his squad: goalkeeper Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake); defenders Kevin Alston (New England Revolution), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) and Heath Pearce (FC Dallas); midfielders Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) and Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids); as well as forward Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls).

Real Salt Lake midfielder Kyle Beckerman has been forced to withdraw from the event due to injury and has been replaced on the roster.

Arena and his coaching staff will have the freedom to determine the starting lineup based on tactical considerations from the following 23-man roster:

2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game Roster

Goalkeepers (2): Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders (7): Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew), Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Heath Pearce (FC Dallas), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire), Kevin Alston (New England Revolution)

Midfielders (9): Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC), Marco Pappa (Chicago Fire), Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake), Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew), Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids)

Forwards (5): Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls), Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *