ASHEVILLE, N.C. – The Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) released the 2019 All-AAC Men’s Soccer Team and Awards on Friday, and Roberto Fernandez Garrido of Milligan is the Player of the Year.

Garrido is also the Golden Boot award winner, while Aaron Whitten of Reinhardt is the Offensive Player of the Year, Montel McKenzie of Tennessee Wesleyan is the Defensive Player of the Year, and Nicholas Akoto of Tennessee Wesleyan is the Freshman of the Year. Luke Winter of Tennessee Wesleyan is the Coach of the Year, and Tennessee Wesleyan is the regular-season champion.

The all-conference team and awards were voted on and selected by the coaches.

Garrido leads the NAIA in goals scored with 25 and tallied 17 in conference play to earn him the Golden Boot. His 52 points rank him sixth nationally. Garrido recorded four hattricks on the year including a four-goal and a five-goal game.

Whitten is second in the NAIA and conference in scoring with 24 overall goals and 16 in league play. He has six game-winning goals and 51 points on the year.

McKenzie helped anchor a Tennessee Wesleyan defense that allowed only 10 goals in conference play and 23 overall. In addition, he helped out with six goals and seven assists.

Akoto collected four goals and five assists for 13 points during his first collegiate campaign.

Garrido, Whitten, and McKenzie all earned a spot on the all-conference first team. Joining them are Nick Croucher of Tennessee Wesleyan, Macros da Paz of Columbia International, Leonardo Fagioli of Reinhardt, Evan Gaffney of Truett McConnell, Kuda Nhiwatiwa of Tennessee Wesleyan, Jonathan Ricketts of Bryan, Javier Rodriguez of Truett McConnell, Brad Spooner of Bryan, Gabriel Stefansson of Reinhardt, Eric Weixbaumer of Reinhardt, and Kyle Wynne of Tennessee Wesleyan.

Akoto earned a spot on the second team and joining him are Joseph Akpome of Montreat, Aaron Attree of Bryan, Edson Bangali of Union, Filipe Barateiro of Union, Josh Conradie of Tennessee Wesleyan, Raphael Duarte of Montreat, Joe Goreham of Bryan, Taylor Gray of Reinhardt, Haaris Hussain of Bryan, Lucas Mattos of Bryan, Lewis Perkins of Bryan, Fransisco Prado of Montreat, and Jesus Ramos of Montreat.

Earning a spot on the Champions of Character Team are Nhiwatiwa, Nathan Ashburn of Reinhardt, Doran Batterman of Columbia International, Josh Cash of Bryan, Lucas Conca of Point, Juan-Carlos Cordon of St. Andrews, Andre Dinca of Montreat, Jason Gay of Kentucky Christian, Leo Garcia of Bluefield, Ryan Kent of Milligan, Pedro Melo of Union, and Ivan Serubiri of Truett McConnell.

Several dozens of student-athletes made the All-Academic Team. To view who made the grade as well as all of the honorees, click here.


Source: aacsports

By nick

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *