ATLANTA, GEORGIA—All of the top players of Atlanta United FC are all back to help the team perform even better in the 2022 Major League Soccer season.
On its year-end roster moves, United FC has decided to retain some of its top players and have them carry the team once again next year.
Back for another tour of duty for the United FC next year are veteran goalkeeper Brad Guzan, star strikers Josef Martínez, Luiz Araújo, and Marcelino Moreno.
Also back is playmaker Ezequiel Barco and defensive specialist George Bello and Miles Robinson.
Aside from the players I mentioned above, United FC also decided to retain key role players of the team including promising midfielder Santiago Sosa.
Here is the complete list of United FC players who have an existing contract with the team:
Goalkeepers (1): Brad Guzan
Defenders (12): Mikey Ambrose, George Bello, George Campbell, Alex De John, Franco Escobar, Alan Franco, Andrew Gutman, Brooks Lennon, Efrain Morales, Miles Robinson, Anton Walkes, Bryce Washington.
Midfielders (10): Ezequiel Barco, Jürgen Damm, Emerson Hyndman, Franco Ibarra, Marcelino Moreno, Jake Mulraney, Matheus Rossetto, Amar Sejdic, Santiago Sosa, Tyler Wolff.
Forwards (5): Luiz Araújo, Machop Chol, Jackson Conway, Erik López, Josef Martínez.
At the moment, United FC is gearing up for another solid performance in the MLS 2022 season.
For its opening salvo in the MLS 2022 season, the United FC will host the dangerous Sporting Kansas City on February 27, 2022, at 3 p.m. (ET) at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.
The match will be broadcast nationally and will be the first time Atlanta and Sporting KC face each other in a season opener.
It was also announced that Atlanta will face Colorado Rapids on Saturday, March 5 at 6 p.m. (ET) at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in the reigning-Western Conference regular-season champions’ home opener. TV information for all matches will be announced at a later date, along with the remainder of the club’s MLS schedule.
The 2022 MLS season will feature 28 clubs, 14 in each conference, with clubs playing each team in its conference twice and eight teams from the other conference once for a total of 34 matches. After today’s announcement, Atlanta has six remaining matches against Western Conference opponents to be announced.