The referee who threw out the United States’ would-be winning goal last week will not officiate another World Cup match anytime soon, FIFA announced Monday.
Mali-born Koman Coulibaly, who disallowed a crucial American goal against Slovenia on Friday night, was left off the list of referees for the next two days of matches.
The game ended in a 2-2 tie, rather than a 3-2 American victory that would have marked the biggest World Cup comeback ever.
FIFA officials have been tight-lipped about the controversial call.
“We do not comment on referee decisions,” a spokesperson told The Wall Street Journal.
Coulibaly received a poor rating from FIFA following an expedited review of his performance Saturday.