WPS Announces 2010 WPS All-Stars
June 9, 2010 – Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS)

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (June 9, 2010) – Women’s Professional Soccer announced the starting 22 players for its 2010 WPS All-Star Game presented by U.S. Coast Guard Reserve which kicks-off at 8pm on June 30 at KSU Soccer Stadium in Kennesaw, Georgia. The starting 22 players were selected on ballots from players (25%), coaches (25%), media (25%) and online fan voting (25%). The top two overall vote-getters in the league were forwards Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom) and Marta (FC Gold Pride), earning them team captain designations.

With a unique All-Star Game format chosen for 2010, each captain will select their starting team together with the All-Star Game head coaches. Wambach will choose “Abby’s XI” with Philadelphia Independence Head Coach Paul Riley, while Marta will chose “Marta’s XI” with FC Gold Pride Head Coach Albertin Montoya at a unique playground pick-em event for fans on Monday, June 28 prior to the 2010 WPS All-Star Game. Coaches were selected from the top two teams in the standings as of June 7, while reserve All-Stars will be selected later this month as Commissioner’s Picks.

In the WPS All-Star voting breakdown, Boston Breakers’ defender Amy LePeilbet received the highest number of votes among player balloting for the second year in a row with 70% of players voting for the league’s 2009 Defender of the Year. Among the coaches vote, Wambach, Marta and Kelly Smith were the only three players to be selected on all eligible coach’s ballots for a perfect 100% percentage. The top selections within the media were Washington Freedom’s Sonia Bompastor (100%) and Atlanta Beat’s Eniola Aluko (100%) – selected on every media vote – while the fans voted Wambach and Marta as their top two WPS All-Stars respectively. The 2010 WPS All-Stars features several rookies including Ramona Bachmann (F, Atlanta Beat), Lauren Cheney (F, Boston Breakers) and Brittany Taylor (D, Sky Blue FC).

“This is a fantastic line-up of talented players who will make for a great mid-summer festival of WPS soccer in Atlanta’s wonderful new stadium,” said WPS Commissioner Tonya Antonucci.

The 2010 WPS All-Star Game will feature Abby’s XI vs. Marta’s XI with kick-off scheduled for 8pm ET. The game will be televised live nationally on Fox Soccer Channel and regionally on select Fox Sports Net affiliates (check local listings) with coverage starting at 7:30pm ET with a half-hour pre-game show. For information or to reserve tickets for the 2010 WPS All-Star Game go to purchase tickets at www.theatlantabeat.com or call 678.298.4780. Group and individual tickets are now on sale.

2010 WPS All-Stars (alphabetical by position)

Team Captains
Home Team: Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom
Away Team: Marta, FC Gold Pride

Goalkeepers (2)
Karen Bardsley, Sky Blue FC
Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat

Defenders (6)
Rachel Buehler, FC Gold Pride
Tina Ellertson, Atlanta Beat
Allison Falk, Philadelphia Independence
Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers
Brittany Taylor, Sky Blue FC
Cat Whitehill, Washington Freedom

Midfielders (8)
Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom
Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride
Lori Chalupny, Atlanta Beat
Kristine Lilly, Boston Breakers
Lori Lindsey, Philadelphia Independence
Aya Miyama, N/A (*must be on WPS roster by June 11 or will be replaced by next-highest)
Heather O’Reilly, Sky Blue FC
Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers

Forwards (6)
Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat
Ramona Bachmann, Atlanta Beat
Lauren Cheney, Boston Breakers
Marta, FC Gold Pride
Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride
Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom

Top Overall Vote-Getters
1.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom
2.) Marta, FC Gold Pride
3.) Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom
4.) Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat
5.) Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride
6.) Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers
7.) Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride
8.) Lori Lindsey, Philadelphia Independence
9.) Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers
10.) Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat

Top 3 Vote Getters – Players Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers (70%)
2.) Marta, FC Gold Pride (64%)
3.) Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride (61%)

Top 3 Vote Getters – Coaches Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom (100%)
Marta, FC Gold Pride (100%)
Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers (100%)

Top 3 Vote Getters – Media Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom (100%)
Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat (100%)
2.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom (94%)

Top 3 Vote Getters – Fan Vote (% of ballots cast)
1.) Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom (31%)
2.) Marta, FC Gold Pride (27%)
3.) Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat (27%)

• Discuss this story on the Women’s Professional Soccer message board…
• Digg this story
• Add to Del.icio.us

Women’s Professional Soccer Stories from June 9, 2010
• WPS All-Star Game Starters Announced – Sky Blue FC
• WPS Announces 2010 WPS All-Stars – WPS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *